Petmeds Ltd Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Petmeds Ltd
Shop Fiprospot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ceva Animal Health Fiprospot Spot On For Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Petmeds Ltd.

Ceva Animal Health Fiprospot Spot On For Cats

***SHORT DATED STOCK*** PACK                                 EXPIRY DATE Fiprospot CAT 3 Pack     Mar-2014 Fiprospot CAT 6 Pack     May-2014   Fiprospot is a topical, spot-on treatment containing the leading flea and tick insecticide Fipronil, that also provides the additional convenience of a pipette with a stand, for pet owners who struggle to hold their pet at the same time!  An easy to use treatment and/or prevention of infestations by fleas.   Fiprospot contains the same active ingredient Fipronil found in Frontline, but is much more cost effective.    Fiprospot can be used on kittens from 8 weeks of age, and weighing at least 1kg.   To maintain flea cover, Fiprospot should be applied every 4 weeks.  Note, that it is importance to apply the dose to an area where the animal cannot lick it off, and ensure that treated animals do not groom each other until the treatment is dry.   Fiprospot completements Ceva’s antiparasite range which also includes the de-wormer Cestem and the environmental flea spray Acclaim.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Review 1 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant

Posted25 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
frompeterborough
Specie:Cat
Breed:Other...
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product about 3 or 4 times now and have just ordered more. I have 4 adult cats and 2 kittens. Therefore as I am a self employed cleaner I don't earn enough to buy frontline for them. I have 2 large male cats, 2 normal females and 2 male kittens. when I was buying frontline it was costing me about 25 pound for each cat including the vets fee. Who can afford that? Vets? This stuff works really well. in fact there is a stray near my mother and we use it on him too.
Pet's age 8 months to 12years
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ever Flea Spot on I have ever used!

Posted06 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
fromSHEFFIELD
Specie:Cat
Breed:Ragdoll
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I have used other Spot on treatments my cats have had a period of irritation after application, but Fiprospot simply goes to work quietly and effectively with no irritation at all with my cats simply getting a little extra fussing from me.
I find it very cost effective and can't ever imagine using anything else, its great.
Pet's age 4 years and 1 year
Pet's weight 7
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This doesn't work on my cats.

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
trishcrazycatlady
fromAshford Kent
Specie:Cat
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability/Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
On my cats this product didn't work, as they are still scratching and fleas are present.
Pet's age 4 yrs
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Petmeds LtdHayley PetersCustomer Service14 November 2012
Unfortunately it sounds as though you may have an infestation. Although pet owners have been using fipronil for many years with no problems it's likely they have not experienced an infestation before. There is no available flea treatment that will completely solve the problem only preventatives. I can assure you the fiprospot is doing its job by killing the fleas it comes into contact with. Fiprospot kills adult fleas on your pet within 24 hours and keeps your pet protected for up to 5 weeks in cats and approximately 2 months in dogs. Fiprospot is a flea treatment and must be applied regularly along with using a household flea spray for the environment (most important), buy one that contains long acting insect growth regulator. If you see fleas on your pet this only accounts for 5% of the population, 95% of the population will be in the environment (your home and surrounding area). Fiprospot will be working killing the fleas it comes into contact with but they have to jump onto your pet to become infected with fipronil (the same active ingredient as Frontline), which is why it is as important to treat the environment with a long acting insect growth regulator

Here are some things you can do to help get rid of fleas.
Firstly

1) Use the spray in all the hard to reach places, under the sofa, around the skirting boards, and furnishings. Flea larva likes to go in dark places away from light so this is quite important.
2) Wash pet bedding on at least 60 degrees, if very large soak in the bath.
3) Hoover regularly, this is important when you have an infestation, move furniture, hovering will help the Pupa to hatch.
4) “Pupa window” this is when the larva have turned into a hard Pupa, before hatching into a adult flea, unfortunately at this stage there Is no treatment available that will kill the Pupa because it is protected in its casing. The new adult flea will only hatch when it senses vibration this can be from your hover or your pet walking nearby, so very important to let your pets roam in all its usual places so when the flea hatches it will jump onto your pet and be killed by the Fipronil.

I hope this helps, I can recommend a good Household flea spray – Staykill or indorex Household flea spray, If you use this you will kill the Adult fleas and Larvae in the environment, when the new fleas hatch from there casing the fleas will jump on to your pet and be killed by the Fiprospot, even though you are seeing active adult fleas on your pet, these fleas will die within 24hrs.

If you still experience problems please consult your veterinary surgeon as Frontline Combo maybe recommended which also kills the eggs and stops the fleas from breeding before they are killed by the fipronil, however to purchase this item from us a written prescription is required from the vet
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than frontline!

Posted15 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Hellycatfish
fromNorth Wales
Specie:Cat
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability/Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have switched from frontline to this for my 1 cat out of my 13 that I can't use Advantage on due to a really bad F.A.D . and for all those people out there worried about change, just give it ago I will never buy frontline again !
Pet's age 8 years
Pet's weight 3
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is the best

Posted09 July 2012
Customer Avatar
Bella1
fromFylde Coast
Specie:Cat
Breed:Other...
I cant understand the comment by Trace if the contents are the same as Frontline. I have used both on my cat and Fibrospot has been just as effective. Perhaps it wasnt applied directly on to the skin. I always get help from my husband to hold the cat still to make sure it goes on the skin on the shoulders under her collar.
Pet's age 6 years
Pet's weight 5.1
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well!

Posted01 March 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
fromWiltshire
Specie:Cat
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this product on my 3 cats and it works wonders! Very impressed and just ordering my next lot for this month!
Pet's age 4years
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy

Posted06 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah
fromHinckley
Specie:Cat
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I decided to try this product on my 3 cats to save money. We had a terrible infestation last year which didn't clear until we used Stronghold which can only be obtained by prescription. It's brilliant but very expensive.
This year I've varied between Frontline, Effipro and Fibrospot and have found no difference whatsoever.
I can completely recommend this product and it's the only one I've used where two of my cats that normally hate being treated and try to run away, didn't really seem to notice!
Value for money & does the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% effective flea control after 1 week! Great purchase.

Posted15 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Dempie
fromDevon
Specie:Cat
Breed:Other...
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My poor old cat has been suffering all summer with fleas. The usual brands didn't make any difference, despite costing A LOT. Saw this advertised and thought I'd give it a go. Very easy to use, and within a week, the cat was flea-free. Maybe it's just because it's new to the cat, but it definitely made Donald a lot more comfortable!
Pet's age 8 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not recommend

Posted07 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Trace
Specie:Cat
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability/Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought I would try this brand instead of my usual Frontline to save a few bob, however, I was totally dissapointed with it!! The pipettes are badly designed and difficult to get in to, once I had mastered this I applied to all my cats. The liquid leaves a white substance on the coat and after two days I combed my cats only to fine very live, very happy fleas running amock!!!! Needless to say I am now re-ordering more flea treatment and this time it will be good old Frontline....and I was trying to 'save' money!!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Petmeds LtdPetmedsVeterinary19 August 2011
Hi, Thank you for the feedback. We would only add that the Fiprospot contents are the same as Frontline and thus the response should be the same. We have asked the manufacturers to come back with some feedback to your review.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT WORKS!!!!!!!

Posted07 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Maddi
fromIsle of Wight
Specie:Cat
Breed:Other...
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought i would try this before getting the usual frontline, it is so much cheaper and it works! very impressed and will be using this to treat my kitten so the little pests dont come back.
Pet's age 9 months
Pet's weight 3
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fiprospot Spot On For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did'nt work :(

Posted01 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Bella
Specie:Cat
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability/Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I applied it 2 weeks ago and did not work for my cat.
Pet's age 9 months
Pet's weight 4.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Petmeds LtdPetmedsVeterinary19 August 2011
Hi, Thank you for the feedback. We would only add that the Fiprospot contents are the same as Frontline and thus the response should be the same. We have asked the manufacturers to come back with some feedback to your review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.